Introspection

The work of art I find amazing is titled “Fireflies on the Water” by Yayoi Kusama. This has to be my favorite art project by an artist thus far. I wish I could have seen this room in person. When I look at the photo it feels as though I am standing in the clouds high above the city during the night. Then at the same time it feels like I’m standing on water. I think to myself, “This is an endless universe”. The room makes the viewer serene, and forces them to kind of meditate in space. It has a calming effect and makes the viewer forget about the world. I loved that the artist only let one person in the room at a time. Many people today do not take the time to just sit in silence and meditate instead they come home and try to occupy themselves with arbitrary distractions. There is very little time for introspection in any given life today. This artwork forces the person to become introspective of themselves, and their lives. Buddhist monks would love this room, and I wish they had rooms like this everywhere for people to go to and just reflect upon. Henry Ford once said, “Thinking is the hardest thing there is, which is probably the reason why so few engage in it.” Today thinking/meditation has very little value to most because it is seen as laziness. Yet when we sit within our minds and meditate that is when we learn about ourselves, and how our egos hold us back. We learn to see things from an objective standpoint, and become more resilient.   

Leave a Reply

