The 1975/Paris/Song Meaning/Breakdown

She said hello, she was letting me know
We share friends in Soho
She’s a pain in the nose
I’m a pain in women’s clothes
You’re a walking overdose in a great coat

He meets a woman who he finds to be a pain in the ass while poking fun at himself.

He can tell and knows that she is trouble because she has drugs and he could end up overdosing on her on them.

And so she wrote a plan for it on the back of a fag packet
She had to leave because she couldn’t hack it
Not enough noise and too much racket
I think I’ve spent all my money and your friends, oh

She drew a location and directions on a cigarette pack.

She had to leave because there was not enough noise for her and at the same time

there was too much racket(trouble) where she met him.


But how I’d love to go to Paris again
And how I’d love to go to Paris again


Mr. Serotonin Man, lend me a gram
You call yourself a friend?
I’ve got two left feet and I’m starting to cheat
On my girlfriend again
I caught her picking her nose
As the crowd cheered for an overdose
And I don’t suppose you know where this train goes

He asks someone for some type of drug.

He is cheating on his girlfriend and implying he has two left feet means he just goes in circles(cheats a lot) and it happens a lot. The girl was probably picking her nose because she was hiding the fact she was doing drugs. He had a crisis while on stage, and then he ask the dealer where the train goes meaning what does the drug do and how does it impact someones life?

There was a party that she had to miss
Because her friend kept cutting her wrists
Hyper-politicized sexual trysts
“Oh, I think my boyfriend’s a nihilist”
As I said “Hey kids! we’re all just the same,
What a shame”

The woman was disappointed because she had to miss a party due to her friend trying to commit suicide. He shows us that this woman is more interested in a party than her friend. He doesn’t see her in a very good light. Hyper-politicized could mean this girl has an outcome in mind when she comes to this parties/places where he is at. She most likely goes there to get drugs. She tells him her boyfriend is a nihilist which means someone who apposes moral and religious values. He responds to her by implying we are all the same. We all have some type of a problem or a condition which although makes us different, it also makes us the same.

You know, how I’d love to go to Paris again
And how I’d love to go to Paris again

Oh stop being an arsehole
And counting my eye rolls
There like piss holes in the snow
Uh oh
Keeping a tab on my health
Man you’re putting me up on a shelf
Well I’ll believe you’re clean
But only by seeing your face for myself

He is telling her she is being annoying and mean. She is looking out for his health. He tells her not to put him on a pedestal since he is just a normal person and does not want to be seen as more important that her or anyone else. He will only believe she is clean by looking at her face. Often people lie so he is skeptical.

And then she pointed at the bag of her dreams
In a well posh magazine
I said “I’m done, babe I’m out of the scene, “
But I was picking up from Bethnal Green
She said, “I’d been romanticizing heroin”
And oh how I’d love to go to Paris, to Paris again
And how I’d love to go to Paris again
And how I’d love to go to Paris again
And how I’d love to go to Paris again

She tells him what she desires by pointing at magazines. She wants to be on the magazines.

He then tells her he is clean but is trying to hide his addiction from her by going somewhere else.

Through out the song he seems to imply that Paris must have been a simpler and enjoyable time for him, and wants to go back to that time before the drugs. It could also mean he is romanticizing drugs and Paris.

3 thoughts on “The 1975/Paris/Song Meaning/Breakdown

  1. I LOVE THIS!! I love that you are interpreting the lyrics of the songs of The 1975. Can you please do UGH! and The Sound pls?

    Like

Leave a Reply

