The 1975/She’s American/Meaning/Breakdown

 

A big town
Synthetic apparitions of not being lonely
Look, he’s having a breakdown
Oh what a let down, a shame, I think he might die
Oh, she’s dancing enthralling, I guess I gotta wait my turn

The first two lines state that there is lack of genuine people. There are many social circles which put up a facade. He had a breakdown while living in United States due to feeling isolated by the culture. He was living in Los Angeles which contributed to his breakdown. Then he goes to talk about some girl who captured his attention. Perhaps she is dancing with someone so he has to wait, or perhaps it’s like a dance battle/show your moves. It could also mean
I said, don’t fall in love with the moment
She said I’ve got a lot to learn

He warns not to fall in love with the moment. Often people mistake the love of the moment for the person. He is telling us that we need to better examine ourselves in order to then really know we are in in fact in love with someone. Often people push idealistic love stories or try to make things work and mistake it for love. The girl then tells him he has a lot to learn referring to her culture.

You know I’m in love with this city
But the green is turning brown
And I just look pathetic now

He likes the city but it is losing its appeal perhaps due to the people who are surrounding him. When he wrote this song the city was also experiencing drought.

If she likes it ’cause we just don’t eat
And we’re so intelligent, she’s American
If she says I’ve got to fix my teeth
Then she’s so American (she’s American)
And if she likes it ’cause we just don’t eat
And we’re socially relevant, she’s American
If she says I’ve got to fix my teeth
Then she’s so American (she’s American)

He then proceeds to demonstrate cultural differences between him and the girl. He obviously sees right through her, and calls her out. He shows us what the American culture is like and what many people value.

She’s inducing sleep to avoid pain
And I think she’s got a gun divinely decreed and custom made
She calls on the phone like the old days, expecting the world
Don’t fall in love with the moment
And think you’re in love with the girl

He then shows another cultural difference between his and her culture. She uses medication to fall asleep which many people do in the states. She is trying to avoid some type of pain, perhaps to dull out the pain of an American lifestyle. She then calls him expecting he will drop everything for her.

He then reminds us to be careful believing we are in love with the girl because we could have just fell in love with the moment. He knows not to mistake liking someone for love, and implies that many people are not aware of this.

There’s no more water in this city
But be careful or you’ll drown
You think you’ve got it figured out

Right when you think you got it all figured out you realize you still have things to learn.

If she likes it ’cause we just don’t eat
And we’re so intelligent, she’s American
If she says I’ve got to fix my teeth
Then she’s so American (she’s American)
And if she likes it ’cause we just don’t eat
And we’re socially relevant, she’s American
If she says I’ve got to fix my teeth
Then she’s so American (she’s American)

chorus repeats….

Well, your face has got a hold on me
But your brain is proper weird
Are you feeling the same?
You just keep nodding at me looking vacant

He is attracted to her but her mental health is not good. He becoming aware of how American girls are different and not particularly in a good way.

She’s American
She’s American
If she likes it ’cause we just don’t eat
And we’re so intelligent, she’s American
If she says I’ve got to fix my teeth
Then she’s so American (she’s American)
If she likes it ’cause we just don’t eat
And we’re socially relevant, she’s American
If she says I’ve got to fix my teeth
Then she’s so American (she’s America

One thought on “The 1975/She’s American/Meaning/Breakdown

Leave a Reply

