The 1975/Somebody Else/Meaning/Breakdown

 

So I heard you found somebody else

And at first, I thought it was a lie

I took all my things that make sound

The rest I can do without

He heard about her finding someone else while he was away on a tour;therefore, he could not give her a lot of his time. At first he thought it was a lie and could not believe it. He then proceeds to the last stage of grief which is acceptance and gets all the stuff that matters to him, and leaves the rest.

I don’t want your body

But I hate to think about you with somebody else

our love has gone cold

You’re intertwining your soul with somebody else

Although he is able to move on and does not want her body he still cannot help himself but imagine her with someone else. Although he may not want her body perhaps she had an emotional impact on him. 

I’m looking through you

While you’re looking through your phone

And then leaving with somebody else

No, I don’t want your body

But I’m picturing your body with somebody else

I don’t want your body, I don’t want your body

I don’t want your body, I don’t want your body

I don’t want your body, I don’t want your body

I don’t want your body, I don’t want your body

He has a  slight disdain for phones because they can distance people. He is pondering what is going on with her, and why she is distant. He sees right through her and knows what is going on.

C’mon baby(I know)

This ain’t the last time that I’ll see your face

C’mon baby(I know)

You said you’d find someone to take my place

He knows she will come back again after they break up. She will try to find someone else to replace him, but she comes back to him a lot. He is not naive about her actions.

Oh, I just don’t believe that you have got it in you

Cos we are just gonna keep “doin it” and everytime

I start to believe in anything you’re saying

I’m reminded that I should be getting over it

He is still a bit shocked by her actions even though he has accepted it. She does this a lot to him. She always comes back to mend their relationship. He realizes he needs to get over her, but he is emotionally effected by her, but doesn’t desire her physically anymore.

I don’t want your body

But I hate to think about you with somebody else

Our love has gone cold

You’re intertwining your soul with somebody else

He has had a Change of heart

I’m looking through you

While you’re looking through your phone

And then leaving with somebody else

No, I don’t want your body

But I’m picturing your body with somebody else

I don’t want your body, I don’t want your body

I don’t want your body, I don’t want your body

I don’t want your body, I don’t want your body

I don’t want your body, I don’t want your body

Chorus Repeats

Get someone you love? Get someone you need?

Fuck that, get money

I can’t give you my soul cause were never alone

Get someone you love? Get someone you need?

Fuck that, get money

I can’t give you my soul cause were never alone

He rejects needing someone to feel fulfilled with himself.

The music video goes over that concept. To him being with someone would just enhance the experience.

Only we can truly make ourselves happy. Dating someone to fill a void will not solve your problems. He is not all about money, and could be mocking other artists. There are various other meaning for it, but it is hard to tell. He then notes how it is difficult to be intimate with someone anymore due to the digital culture, and it’s isolating nature.

I don’t want your body

But I hate to think about you with somebody else

our love has gone cold

You’re intertwining your soul with somebody else

I’m looking through you

While you’re looking through your phone

And then leaving with somebody else

No, I don’t want your body

But I’m picturing your body with somebody else

One thought on “The 1975/Somebody Else/Meaning/Breakdown

Leave a Reply

