The 1975/This Must Be My Dream/Meaning/Breakdown

 

I personify the ‘adolescent on a phone’
Speaking like I’m bigger than my body
I personify that lack of freedom in your life
And I’m sure she’ll be gone in a second

He tends to speak in a manner that comes of as eloquent(he mocks himself in other songs for it). He is the freedom that she lacks in her life, but they cannot see each other because he travels(perhaps she does as well). He is not expecting her to stay or to want to be with him. He has no expectations and realizes that relationships can be difficult to start or to maintain.

Let me tell you ’bout this girl
I thought she’d rearrange my world
Takes a particular type of girl
To put my heart under arrest
So why is this feeling on my chest?

This girl impacted him in a positive manner. He is picky about women and it takes a particular type of girl for him to be truly interested. He isn’t the type to want to be in a committed relationship, but this girl makes him question that belief.

(This must be my dream)

Wide awake before I found you
(This must be my dream)
I can’t wait for you boy
(Wake me from my dream)
What does all our love amount to?
(This must be my dream)
We can’t make love when you fly around me baby

He finds it hard to believe. She can’t wait for him while he goes away. He is asking her and himself what happened exactly. Their desire/love has been mitigated due to being apart. They can’t make love either because they are apart a lot or because she is busy.

Pipe down, you’re no lover
This feeling keeps your body tune
Well, I thought it was love but I guess I must be dreaming
‘Bout feeling something instead of you

He is telling himself to settle down because she may not feel the same way about him. Or she is has moved on and they are no longer lovers. “The relationship” is falling apart because she is not putting any effort compared to him. The relationship is failing because she decided to do it for whatever reason. He though he was in love but realizes it was something else.

What did I tell you ’bout this girl?
The one to rearrange your world?
You got excited and now you find out that your ‘girl’ won’t even get you undressed
Or care about your beating chest

He fell for the girl but she gives him no room and does not care about him

(This must be my dream)

Wide awake before I found you
(This must be my dream)
I can’t wait for you boy
(Wake me from my dream)
What does all our love amount to?
(This must be my dream)
We can’t make love when you fly around me baby

He was very clear headed until he met this girl. He doesn’t see her as a normal person.

She is distracting him from other women. The girls doesn’t want to stay, or be in a relationship with him because he travels and they don’t see each other often.

(This must be my dream)

Wide awake before I found you
(This must be my dream)
I can’t wait for you boy
(Wake me from my dream)
What does all our love amount to?
(This must be my dream)
We can’t make love when you fly around me baby

Wide awake before I found you
(This must be my dream)
I can’t wait for you boy
(Wake me from my dream)
What does all our love amount to?
(This must be my dream)
We can’t make love when you fly around me baby

Wide awake before I found you
(This must be my dream)
I can’t wait for you boy
(Wake me from my dream)
What does all our love amount to?
(This must be my dream)
We can’t make love when you fly around me baby

2 thoughts on “The 1975/This Must Be My Dream/Meaning/Breakdown

  1. I absolutely love what you! Take it from someone who is majoring in Music I think it is extremely important to emphasize that there is poetry behind the words written down a piece of paper.

    Like

Leave a Reply

