The 1975/UGH!/Meaning/Breakdown

UGH! is essentially a song about the singers drug addiction.(It could also be about him being in a toxic relationship/codependent relationship). Essentially the character knows he needs to get it together, and he chooses not to.

It is about his inability to quit.

It is about his openness to a point of

grandiose envy and desire for the drug.

He is being completely vulnerable and honest.

The song gives of a hopeful and passionate stance on his thoughts upon this drug addiction to the point where you are almost cheer for him to rebel, although it is unwise.

Quite charismatic.

The first step to curing an addiction is recognizing you have one,

and he seems to do so;nevertheless, he is still hooked.

Hey boy, stop pacing ’round the room
Using other people’s faces as a mirror for you

The character seems to be anxious, and is asking/looking

at others to gauge his well being/his eye pupils.
I know your lungs need filling
Since your gums have lost their feeling
But don’t say that you’re giving it up again

He desires some type of drug/psychedelic to inhale.

Due to his use of other substances he has become numb.

He has build a resistance to the substance.

He then implies that he has tried to quit before, and it has become a repeating cycle.

And do you have a card?
My irregular heart beat is starting to compact itself
He’s just a simple diabetic that prevents the empathetic
From being just and giving it up

Do you have a card could mean does the person have money for the substance

or

they could be using the card for cocaine use

where you split the substance in half.

And you’re the only thing that’s going on in my mind
Taking over my life a second time
I don’t have the capacity for fucking
You’re meant to be helping me
When I said I liked it better without my money, I lied
It took a little while to recognize
That I, I’m not giving it up again

This lyric then suggests the drug is like a significant other to him which he can’t get over.

The substance is taking over his life for the second time in his life.

He then ends up with erectile dysfunction due to the substance he is abusing.

Essentially, the drug is ruining his sex life.

Often people take drugs to help them with

sex/getting over anxiety/(insert emotional problem here)

but he demonstrates how naive that is.

He is illustrating that drugs create more problems.

He then implies that it is better without money because

then he would feel less inclined to buy the substance. He then takes it back because in the end

life is better with money, it is just his misuse of drugs that makes him say life would be better without the wealth.

He then bluntly states he will not give it up.

This conversation’s not about reciprocation no more
But I’m gon’ wait until you finish so I can talk some more
About me and my things, my car, my living
And how I’m giving it up, giving it up again

He is having a conversation with someone, and it is all about him.

He is showing his narcissistic side coming up which is caused by the drugs.

He is not listening to understand the other person, he is simply waiting for his turn to talk.

Although in person he seems articulate the drugs are taking a toll on his social life now

since he is not having a genuine conversation with another person.

And you’re the only thing that’s going on in my mind
Taking over my life a second time
I don’t have the capacity for fucking
You’re meant to be helping me
When I said I liked it better without my money, I lied
It took a little while to recognize
That I, I’m not giving it up again

Chorus repeats

Oh the kick won’t last for long
But the song only lasts 3 minutes
I think I’ve lost my phone
So won’t you call it up for me?
Oh the kick won’t last for long
But the song only lasts 3 minutes
And I know it’s wrong
But give me one

Due to his substance abuse it takes a bigger amount for him to get high/effected

His high only lasts for three minutes now instead of before where it could have lasted

for 30 minutes or hours(I don’t know since I’ve never tried).

He is completely aware that it is wrong and he is at the stage of acceptance

which is when most try to quit, yet he continues to embark on this destructive path.

And you’re the only thing that’s going on in my mind
Taking over my life a second time
I don’t have the capacity for fucking
You’re meant to be helping me
When I said I liked it better without my money, I lied
It took a little while to recognize
That I, I’m not giving it up again

Chorus repeats

I’m not giving it up
I’m not giving it up
I’m not giving it up
I’m not giving it up
I’m not giving it up, giving it up
I’m not giving it up, giving it up

He sounds desperate when he sings this part.

Perhaps, showing his desperation and inability to quit

or his desire to quit but having little to no hope.

Leave a Reply

