Emotional Risks

Often people are afraid/cautious to be emotionally effected

or to be hurt.

We rarely take any emotional risks.

We often prefer comfort over risk and adventure.

We often talk ourselves out of doing what we want

simply because of uncertainty.

Perhaps something else(you tell me).

I want the extremes.

And I am glad to know I am not the only one.

I recently read a biography about a man who lives his life on the extremes(especially  taking emotional risks and embracing them).

I loved how raw, dirty, adventurous, romantic, and honest the novel was.

He shows that you will get burned, hurt, and destroyed;in addition,  he also demonstrates you will have amazing experiences as well. 

In his own words, ” when you ask for the extremes you will get it. The good and the bad.”

The novel takes you on an emotional roller coaster.

Where you see his trials and tribulations.

His adventures, and his encouragement for you to make the most out of life.

You experience his

terribly bad and depressing moments, and exquisite highs from

taking chances, and going for what he wants.

One of my favorite passages in the novel is when he meets a woman and initially has a short lived romance with her.

That experience impacted him in a positive manner even though it

was a deeply emotional moment for them both(They shed a tear, or two).

File:Crying-gif-24.gif

There is a quote that goes alone the lines of,  “It is far greater to regret something you did than to regret the life always wondering what if.” When I read his  novel I got the impression that he had little to no regrets, and that is how I want to live my life.

 

Bellow is a passage taken from a letter which is from the woman who was involved in that short romance with him(3-4 days).

She was a woman who at that moment rattled him emotionally even though he was already involved with multiple women. She was not destructive. Quite the apposite. She was simply powerful, and feminine which is a rare sight to see today.

(I’m not gonna lie when I read this novel I had to punch a wall to regain my masculinity after I shed a few tears).

Anyways, I do not want to get sidetracked enjoy her passage which is bellow…

(taken from “A Natural History” by James Marshall)

Olya(Eastern European) 

I wasn’t hiding my devotion at that moment. It’s hard to explain, but it really gives you a lot and sometimes takes you a lot to open yourself to somebody. Only when being cruelly open you can clearly see who you are and what the real value is

It hasn’t changed since then at all; I felt the same every time we made love ever after.

It was a fair price for getting his heart.

Now when I have his heart I miss him even more cause I gave him mine in return…

That is the sweetest pain giving you the sense of being alive and I feel sad for those

intentionally protecting themselves from it for a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

