The 1975/The Sound/Meaning/Breakdown

To begin, this songs seems to be about a woman. At the same time it could also be about people who dislike the band based upon their music video. This song can be interpreted a couple of ways, and I will try to stick to one concept.

Well I know when you’re around cause I know the sound
I know the sound, of your heart
Well I know when you’re around cause I know the sound
I know the sound, of your heart(x2)

The singer is basically implying he understands this person to the core.

He can sense what a person is like based upon their

demeanor/energy(referring to people who dislike the band)

I can’t believe I forgot your name
Oh baby won’t you come again?
She said “I’ve got a problem with your shoes and your tunes
But I might move in” and
“I thought that you were straight, now I’m wondering”

He seems to have had a one time encounter with this person thus far, and has forgotten their name.

He could be surprised because typically when you have an intimate moment with someone you remember their name.

He then invites the person to come over again.

Come again” could also be referring to a sexual undertone meaning, won’t you cum again(perhaps I have a dirty mind, and I’m reading into it too much).

The woman does not like his sense of style or his music, yet that does not stop her from wanting to see him, and play a small part in his life.

The woman then question his sexuality.

You’re so conceited
I said “I love you”
What does it matter if I lie to you?
I don’t regret it but I’m glad that we’re through
So don’t you tell me that you ‘just don’t get it’
Cause I know you do.

He finds the woman conceited which is apparent when she states, “I’ve got a problem with your shoes and your tunes.”

Since he finds her conceited he then feels fine lying to her by stating, “that he loves her.”

He could be mirroring her personality.

(He could also be saying that he “loves her” to make her feel better about herself, and let her walls down so they can have a genuine and sincere moment between them. He is basically trying to get her to open up by lying to her because she is conceited and likely is not very sincere)

He then states that he does not regret having spent that time with her, and that he is glad that their affair has ended.

He understands that what they had was quite superficial, and implies that she understands where he is coming, but she is playing dumb/naive.

Well I know when you’re around cause I know the sound
I know the sound, of your heart
Well I know when you’re around cause I know the sound
I know the sound, of your heart

Chorus Repeats

It’s not about reciprocation it’s just all about me
A sycophantic, prophetic, Socratic junkie wannabe
There’s so much skin to see
A simple Epicurean Philosophy

He then proceeds to mock himself for basically implying that he is not any better than that girl since he often sings and writes about himself(he is trying to stay level headed). He then implies that he acts like a mix between a drug addict and a philosopher. He then remarks how at times his life can be hedonistic while having a correlation with Epicurean philosophy.


Oh, and you say I’m such a cliche,
I can’t see the difference in it either way.
And we left things to protect my mental health
But you call me when you’re bored and you’re playing with yourself

He then remarks how some find him to be full of cliches which the music video goes over.

He ended the relationship to protect his mental health because the relationship was very superficial to him. He does not want to be damaged by this conceited woman who only uses him for sex. He understands she does not really care about him, and adds very little value or beauty to his life.

He does not care whether he gets laid or not. He wants to be with someone with a good heart.

The woman only calls him for booty calls when she is horny. He is cautious not to get involved with her because she is dangerous.

You’re so conceited
I said “I love you”
What does it matter if I lie to you?
I don’t regret it but I’m glad that we’re through
So don’t you tell me that you ‘just don’t get it’
Cause I know you do.

Well I know when you’re around cause I know the sound
I know the sound, of your heart
Well I know when you’re around cause I know the sound
I know the sound, of your heart
Well I know when you’re around cause I know the sound
I know the sound, of your heart
Well I know when you’re around cause I know the sound
I know the sound, of your heart

Well I know when you’re around cause I know the sound
I know the sound, of your heart
Well I know when you’re around cause I know the sound
I know the sound, of your heart
Well I know when you’re around cause I know the sound
I know the sound, of your heart
Well I know when you’re around cause I know the sound
I know the sound, of your heart

5 thoughts on “The 1975/The Sound/Meaning/Breakdown

  1. Hey! I’m a huge huge HUGE fan of The 1975 and I’m so happy to find someone like me 🙂 My recent post was inspired by She’s American, check it out if you want xD It’s always cool to realize that people are inspired by the same are that you are. look forwards to hearing more from your blog, take care! xo Queertastic ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

